Lincsquad Time Trials 2011

Wow, what a year for the Lincsquad Time Trials, record attendances, times & personal bests.

Firstly, a big thank you to everyone that took part and supported the series, to those that gave up a TT to marshall at the level crossing and a special thank you to Elinor, Vicky & Kev for their time-keeping & starting, without you all the Time Trials would not have been the success they have been.

We saw record numbers of competitors this year with 117 different people taking part throughout the season, thats 37 up on last year. We also saw the average TT attendance increase from 25 last year to around 40 this year, with a record breaking 52 TT’ers for the final race of the season. Awesome!!

For all the newcomers to Lincsquad TT’s this year, well done, we hope you enjoyed them enough to come back next year and join our ever growing club so that you can build on your personal best’s next year.
Lincsquad membership link here – join now & get 16 months membership

Course Records were broken this year;
– Robbie Whitaker, joining Lincsquad half way through the season recorded the fastest time ever by a member of Lincsquad with a 20:49 at the 17th August TT, only 2 seconds off the course record set by Stuart Wells (Lindsey Road Club) 20:47 on 6th July 2011.
– We had a number of Lincsquad Youth Academy members take on the TT’s this year which was great to see, Simon Beedham (16) setting the record with a 24:13 on 6th July, watch out everyone, he has you in his sights.

There were plenty of battles at all levels within the series and with a record 31 TT’ers completing the minimum 6 TT’s for the series standings.

Steve Grocock - 2011 TT Champion

Steve Grocock - 2011 TT Champion

Steve Grocock becomes the Overall Series Championfor 2011, with a great set of times, the only TT’er to average sub 22 mins for the series and a new PB of 21:18. A very worthy winner, well done Steve.

The lighning bolt that is Dunc Wright takes 2nd in the Lincsquad series with some fantastic times this year to go along with his success in the summer duathlons, just getting better with age Dunc, well done.

Third place in the Lincsquad Series goes to Chris Spavin, the only TT’er to complete all 11 TT’s recording 6 PB’s along the way, with a season PB of 22:19, nearly 2 minutes quicker than last year.

Lindsey Heathfield takes the Ladies Champion title, leading the series for the whole season, completing all but one TT in the series, well done. Great to see an increasing number of ladies taking on the TT’s this year.

It was great to see many riders from other affiliated clubs this year taking on our TT, with Ronnie McWillaim (Lincoln Velo) completing 6 TT’s and recording an average of 22:06 with a PB of 21:42 and Steve Rhodes (Stockton Wheelers) completing 9 TT’s with an average of 22:52 & PB of 22:22, thanks guys, and thanks to other TT’ers from Barton Wheelers, Scunny Poly, Lindsey Road Club, Adwick Tri, Grimsby Tri.

Finally, there were some great improvements on last years personal bests and some big improvements since the first half of the season.

Alan Woodcock, Nicky Robinson, David Hinch, Steve Rhodes, Chris Spavin & Phil Binch all knocking over a minute off last years personal best’s.
Most Improved 2010 Vs 2011

But the star of the “improvement show” has to Youth Academy’s, Tom Yeats (14), who has completed 8 TT’s this year, and has improved his average time in the second half of the series by nearly 3 minutes, recording 6 PB’s on the way to a 27:03 in the final TT of the year, thats over 6 & half minutes quicker than his first time, awesome, well done Tom (I bet your dad’s proud).
Lincsquad newcomers Rik Longcake & Rob Jaques also show great improvements throughout the season, both recording 6 PB’s and improving by over 6% on the first half of teh series, well done.
Most Improved during 2011

Lincsquad Time Trial Series Awards
Overall Champion – Steve Grocock
Second – Dunc Wright
Third – Chris Spavin
Fourth – Phil Binch
Fifth – Mark York

Ladies Champion – Lindsey Heathfield
Second Lady – Nicky Robinson
Third Lady – Becky Bowen

Most improved 2010 vs 2011 – Phil Binch

Most improved during 2011 – Tom Yeats

Awards will be presented at Lincsquad’s Annual Awards Event later this year
(details to follow).

Series Final Standings below;
Lincsquad Series – Men’s
Lincsquad Series – Lady’s
Allcomer’s Series