LAYA’s Night 2018 The Good the Bad and the Prettiest of 2017

So the hastilly applied with duct tape bedsheet/curtain comes down on another season awards night and it was good to see many Linsquadders both old and new as well as young and errr old in attendance.

Nigel Smaller (Youth Chair) opened the procedings with the Youth Awards and the results will be published soon……..

It was then the turn of the TT Series awards. Eleven rounds contested over the usual three courses, The clubs own 9.8mile LQ10/2, the Scunthorpe Road Club 0.3mile Burton Hill climb course SRHC1 and the Kirton/Greetwell SRC11/1


1st Pam Challen

2nd Fiona Fisk

3rd Belinda Allen


1st Steve Grocock

2nd Ben Creasey

3rd Jon Challen

We are also pleased to announce Pam (and Jon!) will be taking over as TT Secretary for 2018 and will keep you all posted on the plans for the season. We can already say the penultimate round will be a Two Up TT (two riders working together)  to add a little something new to those who wish to hone their drafting skills for events that allow it. Once again a big thank you to all who marshalled last year and the same requirement to marshall at least one round to qualify for the series will be in place for 2018.

On to the Main awards……..

As usual there was a fantastic response to requests fro nominations in the various categories. Due the large numbers of nominations only the top three were shown. Its very satisfying to see everyone in the club being recognised for their efforts.

The Winners were

Martin Foster – Splasher of the Year – The swimmer with the most enthusiastic style, the most powerful swimmer or the kyaker who just keeps falling in a lot! Martin is an easy sub 6minutes 400m swimmer!

Best WAG – Sarah Evans For the top supporter putting up with their athlete! Ash Evans IMWales 2017 race report is certainly worth a re read.

Newbie to Quad – Kev Lovett – Kev has properly embraced quadrathon and will be one to watch at this years Bomber in May.

Most Miles – Graham Elwood – Graham has already competed in Ultra distance is training for Cotswold Way. An 108miles race held over 4 days!

Youth of the Year – Christopher Durham. Chris has had yet another fantastic year. A move up to Cat 1 status has not altered his humble and friendly attitude. A true ambassador and credit to the sport.

Lincsquadder of the Year – Jess Porte As well manning the sign in desk at our coaching sessions Jess most importantly of all….bakes the most excellent cakes!

Ironman of the Year – Steve Clark Steve just keeps better and better. Winner of one of the toughest races in the UK Triathlon X and first Brit at Norseman.

Coach of the Year – Jeff Chappill – Once again Jeff retains the award he has made his own each year.

Most Improved – Claire Hobley. Since joining the club Claire has competed at Half Iron distance, the London Marathon, cycled the Coast2Coast and will be taking part in Ironman Maastricht this year. One to watch.

Marshal of the Year – Wayne Beedham. A long term supporter of the club. Wayne has marshalled the Bomber and Sprint practically every year.

So we come to the two main awards (or so you’d think!)

Prettiest Bike – Nicola Halls Liv TT bike – So much skullduggary, self promotion and just outright begging clearly worked! A worthy winner.

Sexiest Arse – Gary Horner.  I dont think even with all my experience of writing on here I can fully articulate the moment (and subsequent acceptance video) of when Gary won this award. Fully deserved…..for many many reasons.

Female of the Year – Louise Beedham. Louise has again had another successful year once again winning her British Quadrathlon Age Group. A regular racer at Brigg Sprint and the Bomber Quadrathlon as well other races Louise is constantly flying the club flag in Lincsquad colours.

Male of the Year Ric Longcake – Ric has had a what can only be described as a busy year. Steelman, Outlaw coaching for the club and Club Treasurer.

Christian Brown Award – Louise Beedham. The Christian Brown Award is a very special award and the Committee always try to award it to the person who displays the same grit and determination showed by Chris during his time with the club. Never one to back down he loved a challenge and he is still missed by many in the club. Louise has shows all these characteristics and we know the Trophy is in good hands for 2018.

Final business of the evening was the Kayak balance board challenge where Jacob Riby set the bar at 20 minutes only to be beaten by Beth Hall at 30 minutes and the raffle!

Winners were 2 x 1 hr Massage sessions offered by Jo Findley – (Thank you Jo who is always a great supporter of our club), Early Brigg Sprint won by Dan Ellis, Grantham Sprint entry – Lucy Cresswell, Goole Sprint entry won by Jon Challen, Off That Couch Swim analysis won by Jo Findley, Bomber entry won by Pam Challen. Cycle Route Lincs bike fit – Pam Challen and Cycle Route Lincs Bike Service won by Ric Longcake.

Massive thanks to the Committee and events team for looking after everyone during the past year and good luck to you all for 2018.

David H.

Chair 2018