Lincsquad Awards Night 2017

Friday (27th January) saw the circus that is the Lincsquad Awards Night, roll into Redbourne Club in Scunthorpe. For this year’s extravaganza we were at the mercy of Lincsquad’s answer to Ant and Dec, David Hinch and Ric Longcake, to reveal the winners and hand out the awards.

The Awards Night is our annual gathering when club members can all get together, not sweaty or dressed in Lycra, to socialize and celebrate the previous year’s endeavors. I think just about everybody in the room deserved an award of some description, for the hours spent training, volunteering, supporting and achieving, but on Friday we discovered who the club members had voted should receive the trophies in the various categories.
Throughout the presentations Ric played an excellent Miss Piggy to Hinchy’s Kermit and they led us brilliantly on a journey of Powerpoint mayhem to hand out the awards. A full list of the winners is shown below.  Congratulations to everybody who received an award, and to all those who were nominated.
The Female of the Year category was particularly closely fought. Nicky Robinson (fantastic performance at IronMan UK), Louise Beedham (amazing success in the UK Quadrathlon Series) and Amy Grocock (awe inspiring racing for team GB in duathlon, and numerous podium finishes) were only one vote apart. Stephen Cannings was recognized for all his hard work and determination to pull off an amazing performance at Ironman Barcelona, Steve Clark for his outstanding racing at the grueling NorsIMG_9586eman, and Steve Grocock scooped the Male of the Year after his impressive performance at the Ironman world championships in Kona.
The mighty Satsuma, belonging to Tony England, was victorious in the most coveted award, ‘The Prettiest Bike’, leaving the raffle as Gary Horner’s only chance of a prize.
The awards were concluded with the presentation of The Christian Brown Trophy, which every year goes to a club member who has embodied the wonderful character and determination of our good friend Chris Brown, who sadly died following a cycling accident a few years ago. As ever, Chris’s family came along to present the trophy, which this year was awarded to the inspirational Dave Milton for his strength and resolve in training and fund raising whilst battling cancer. You can read more about his story on his Just Giving page.

Award Winners
Youth of the Year – James Jackson
Prettiest Bike – Tony England’s Satsuma
Sexiest Arse in Lycra – Emma Watts
IMG_9579IMG_9581Supporter of the Year – Anna Gibbs
Blogger of the Year – Steve Grocock
Most Improved – Ashley Evans
Most Motivated to Train – Chris Gibbs
Newbie to Quadrathlon – Donna Chappell
Make a Splash Award – Andrew Lawson
Coach of the Year – Jeff Chappell
Race Performance – Steve Clark
Ironman of the Year – Stephen Cannings
Lincsquadder of the Year – Tony England
Female of the Year – Nicky Robinson
Male of the Year – Steve Grocock
Christian Brown Award – Dave Milton

This year’s raffle contained some amazing prizes, thanks to the generosity of the many local businesses IMG_9595and athletes who donated. The entire raffle proceeds, totaling over £400, will be donated to Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance. Thank you to everybody who purchased tickets. It’s always disheartening to enter any kind of raffle that Kerry Padley has also purchased tickets for, and Friday was no exception, with Kerry and Gary Horner scooping three prizes each.
So, that’s the awards over for another year, if you didn’t nominate anybody or vote, then please think about doing so next year. In an ever growing club, it’s good to try and ensure that achievements don’t get missed.
See you next year.IMG_9575

Raffle prizes and winners:

Matt Austen – Forest Pines Golf Voucher

Emma Watts – Oakley Sunglasses

Alex Culbert – FFS Ancholme Sprint Entry

Martin McLoughlin – FFS Ancholme Sprint Entry

Sharon Ledgard – FFS Ancholme Sprint Entry

Chris Jackson – FFS Ancholme Sprint Entry

Stephen Cannings – FFS Goole Sprint Entry

Gary Horner – FFS Grantham Sprint EntryIMG_9570

Roo Butterill – FFS Lincs Edge Standard Distance Entry

Gary Horner – FFS Lincs Edge Sprint Entry

Clare Hobley – OTCF 50% off Bike Watt Test

Dave Milton – OTCF Endless Pool Swim

Wal Kent – OTCF Water Treadmill

Ian Berridge – OTCF 50% off Swim Analysis

Emma Watts – Sportive HQ Series Race Entry

Dan Ellis – CRL Basic Bike Service

Kerry Padley – CRL Bike Fit

Phil Carter – £50 More Mile VoucherIMG_9573

Kerry Padley – Amy Grocock PT Session

Andrew Croft – Giant Store Giant Cycle Jersey

Kerry Padley – Jo Findley Sports Massage

Ash Evans – Jo Findley Sports Massage

Gareth Crabb – Jo Findley Sports Massage

Sarah Evans – Animis Run Session

Wayne Beedham – Animis Swim Session

Gemma Catley – Curly’s Race Entry

Dan Ellis – Curly’s Race Entry

Drew Hobley – Curly’s Race Entry

Linzi Croft – Sweet Bouquet

Katie Scutt – £25 Metres to Miles Voucher

Gareth Crabb – Andrew Coulson Sports Massage

Loraine Corfield – Tape to Tape North Lincs Half Entry

Pete Tindall – Tape to Tape Grimsby 10K Entry

Steve Hall – Blizard 50% off Cycle Threshold Test

Wendy Brown – Keep Yourself Right Goodie Bag

Mike Catley – Giant Store LIV Lights

Gary Horner – Giant Store Giant Lights

Sheehan Quirke – One Step Beyond £50 Race Voucher

Jo Findley – JKC Properry Management & Lettings Wine

Kev Lovett – JKC Properry Management & Lettings Wine

Nicky Robinson – JKC Properry Management & Lettings Wine

Gemma Catley – JKC Properry Management & Lettings Wine

Graham Elwood – Oakley Hat

Christine Brown – Giant Store LIV Jersey