PB’s Galore at Round 2 of the Linsquad TT Series

TT report 25/04/18

“Don’t worry, you are only there in case a train comes, and I don’t think we’ve have had one in years…”  Rob Walsh, in reply to Becky Hollis, 2018

29 riders gathered at the King William IV pub, Scawby Brook and raced from 18:30 on the 25/04/18.  The TT weather Gods dictated that wind speeds would be 14mph WSW with gusts of 23 mph.  It was a light showery evening, the temp was recorded at 13 degrees by the Met Office.  Thanks as always to the King Billy pub for being welcoming hosts.  Thanks also to our volunteer crew of timekeepers and marshalls, including Wayne Beedham, for giving up your time to ensure the smooth running of the second round of Lincsquad’s TT Series.  Thank you Rob Walsh for taking the monies and thanks Tony England for expertly holding our racers on the start line. Special thanks go to Nigel Pennington for the amazing pictures of the riders and spectators which may be found on Lincsquads FB page.

1st place overall on the night was Josh Jones of Sports Lab, with a time of 20:54, congratulations on your result.  1st place overall for the ladies on the night goes to Alison Schofield who rides for Barton Wheelers, a storming time of 25:37 many congratulations Alison.

1st Male for Lincsquad on the night with a PB went to Rich Robinson, an amazing time of 21:35.  Many congratulations Rich.  Second and third places for the males of Lincsquad went to Steve Grocock (22:07) and Ben Creasy (22:08)  Ben’s third place was an impressive PB and only a second behind Steve, the competition is on.  Josh Blackley came in in an impressive time of 28:16, congratulations on your PB!  Darren Hepworth was spotted waiting for the train to come.  He recovered well from this interruption in his race coming in with a time of 26:50; ironically placing 14th overall on the night.  Placing 18th out of 30 riders on the night in a time of 27:48, while also recording a PB was Jacob Riby.  Congratulations Jacob.  Hot on his heels was M Walsh, congratulations.

As the last racers came into the paddock, thoughts turned to whose turn it was to get the refreshments in and who would win the raffle.  Many thanks to Jane Taylor for donating the aerodynamic elite bottle and bottle cage.  This was won by M Walsh.  Congratulations on your win and we hope you will enjoy using it.

Round 3 LQ10/2 will be at the King William IV on May 9th.  I would like to take this opportunity to thank you all for being involved in the series whether racing or volunteering.

See you all at Round 3.

Pam (TT Sec)


position name Race no club time
1 Josh Jones 11 Sports Lab 20:54
2 Rich Robinson 16 PB Lincsquad 21:35
3 Steve Grocock 21 Lincsquad 22:07
4 Ben Creasy 26 PB Lincsquad 22:08
5 Sheehan Quirke 5 Lincsquad 23:08
6 Gavin Mann 6 53/Eleven 23:56
7 Kevin Wilson 19 Dawson Racing 24:20
8 Jon Challen 29 Lincsquad 24:24
9 Mark Jackson 25 PB C and T 24:25
10 Matt Austin 10 Lincsquad 24:53
11  F Alison Schofield 22 Barton Wheelers 25:37
12 Chris Gibbs 13 Lincsquad 25:54
13 F Tori Smaller 24 Lincsquad 26:47
14 Darren Hepworth 12 Lincsquad 26:50
15 Andrew Porte 15 Lincsquad 27:18
16 F Vicky Howden 17 Lincsquad 27:20
17 Steve Cannings 20 Lincsquad 27:47
18 Jacob Riby 3  PB Lincsquad 27:48
19 Malcolm Dent 14 Lincsquad 27:51
20 F Jane Taylor 23 Lincsquad 27:52
21 Josh Blackley 28 PB Lincsquad 28:16
22 F Fiona Fisk 27 Lincsquad 28:40
23 F Jennifer Worsley 30 Lincsquad 28:41
24 Darren Scutt 7 Lincsquad 28:50
25 Mark Turner 4 Lincsquad 29:47
26 F Camilla Morgan 1 Lincsquad 30:01
27= M Walsh 2 Lincsquad 31:41
27= Richard Murgatroyd 18 C and T 31:41
29 David Stow 8 Lincsquad 31:49
30 Nigel Abrams 9 Lincsquad 32:06