A Breezy Club Champs at The Early Brigg Sprint

The inaugural Lincsquad Club Champs took place on Sunday 29th April, as part of the Family Autos FastFWDSports Early Brigg Sprint Triathlon. Thirty-seven Lincsquad members took part, in what was for many, the first race of the season.
It wasn’t the warmest of spring days, and the ‘slight breeze’ made sections of the cycle and run routes rather challenging. However, all Lincsquadders completed the course with smiles on their faces, and a few even managed a course PB, despite the weather conditions. It’s always good to see a bit of friendly rivalry amongst members, and to watch the inevitable ‘races within the race’ unfold.
The support from marshals and Lincsquadders was, as ever, fantastic. And the ‘high fives’ and words of encouragement from fellow club members on the run, really lifts your spirits.
Jess Porte had kindly donated one of her fantastic cakes for us to raffle, to raise money for Lincs and Notts Air Ambulance. We raised £55 from this, and Anna Gibbs was the very lucky winner of the cake. Though I’m told Dave Gibbs ate the majority of it.
Following a few issues with the results on the day, the overall champions, and winners in the various age categories are now listed below. Congratulations to both Chris Gibbs and Nicola Hall who are not only our Club Champions, but also recorded the fastest male and female bike splits of all the Lincsquad entrants. Congratulations too to Peter Lawson and Jenny Dale for completing their first triathlon.
Well done to everybody who took part and a big thank you to those who gave up their time to help set up and dismantle everything at the end.
For anybody who hasn’t yet received their trophy, we’ll be presenting these at The Brigg Bomber in a few weeks’ time. FastFWDSports and Lincsquad subsidized members’ entry to the event, and £15 refund will be processed shortly by FastFWDSport, to all those members who raced.


Overall Male Winner – Chris Gibbs
1st Male 20-24 – Simon Beedham
1st Male 25-29 – Dan Ellis
1st Male 35-39 – Jamie Moss
1st Male 40-44 – Drew Hobley
1st Male 45-49 – Phil Gibbs
1st Male 50-54 – Johnathon Bower
1st Male 55-59 – Malc Marshall
Fastest Male Bike Split – Chris Gibbs
Fastest Male Newcomer – Peter Lawson



Overall Female Winner – Nicola Hall
1st Female Under 20 – Tori Smaller
1st Female 20-24 – Katie Scutt
1st Female 35-39 – Vicky Howden
1st Female 40-44 – Camilla Morgan
1st Female 45-49 – Sallie Joseph
1st Female 50-54 – Julie England
1st Female 55-59 – Fiona Fisk
Fastest Female Bike Split – Nicola Hall
Fastest Female Newcomer – Jenny Dale